Byzantine Catholics?

DIscussion and News concerning Orthodox Churches in communion with those who have fallen into the heresies of Ecumenism, Renovationism, Sergianism, and Modernism, or those Traditional Orthodox Churches who are now involved with Name-Worshiping, or vagante jurisdictions. All Forum Rules apply. No polemics. No heated discussions. No name-calling.

Gideon

Byzantine Catholics?

Post by Gideon »

What's the deal with this group? I often post on the byzantine forum but lately it's been crazy. People denying hell and the return of Christ...am I a heretic? I'm new to the Orthodox Faith but I believe what I read in the different Catechism I've read...call me crazy.

"At the final judgement, man will be presented before Christ as a full person, with a body and soul. For man to be presented like this, his body must be resurrected and be united with the soul. This will happen immediately before the final judgement. Holy Scripture absolutely assures us of this." Metropolitan Archbishop Sotirios

OrthoDoc

Byzantine Catholics

Post by OrthoDoc »

As some one who used to post on the Byzantine Forum I finally gave up on those people. After 400+ years they are still searching for an identity and trying to figure out WHAT, WHO, and WHY they are. They see their religion in the terms of its ritual and national and political alliances. Rather than its doctrines and beliefs. Very few of them fully understand what they are required to believe just by being 'in communion' with Rome. They think that all they have to do is delatinize their ritual and once again they will become fully Orthodox. Their 400+ separation from Holy Orthodoxy has given them a completely western and false idea about what Orthodoxy is. They can't understand that to an Orthodox, doctrine is of prime importance. Rather than ritual observance (which is the only smiliarities we share). Therefore, they also have to delatinize their latinized doctrine too.