The Great East-West Schism

Patristic theology, and traditional teachings of Orthodoxy from the Church fathers of apostolic times to the present. All forum Rules apply. No polemics. No heated discussions. No name-calling.
尼古拉前执事
Archon
Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Non-Phylitist

The Great East-West Schism

Post by 尼古拉前执事 »

Tomorrow I am a guest lecturer in the High School Religion Class at Church. The topic is on the Great Schism. I am planning on using the following text that I got from the St. John the Baptist Cathedral in D.C. site, but was wondering if anyone thinks I should focus on any other points of the schism.

The breakaway of the Roman Church from the Church Universal occurred in the following manner.

In the year 752, Pope Zacharias anointed Pepin the Short, the chief steward of the Frankish kings, to be king, and by this gave, as it were, the Church's blessing to the overthrow carried out by Pepin in the Frankish kingdom that removed the lawful Frankish king from power. For this, Pepin, in the year 755, took away from the Germanic tribe of the Lombards the lands conquered by them in Italy and delivered into the pope's hands the keys to twenty

Justin Kissel

Post by Justin Kissel »

Sorry I didn't get to read this until this morning! :oops:

How did the talk go, though?

尼古拉前执事
Archon

It actually didn't go...

Post by 尼古拉前执事 »

No problem. It actually has been delayed until 2 weeks from now. Today was the general parish meeting when class would normally be head, and next week the teacher is going to be in Washington D.C. and the Bishop might be at our sister parish for the occasion of their parish feast day (meaning many would go there that Sunday instead of our church) and thus the delay.

If you have any thoughts on the topic, feel free to share them between now and then. :)

cparks

Post by cparks »

Do you plan on saying anything about Charlemagne?

尼古拉前执事
Archon

Charlemagne, son of Pepin the Short

Post by 尼古拉前执事 »